Wk4 – Art Experience – Art Care Package (ACP)

For this week’s art experience I made an art care package and sent it to one of my friend’s in the dorms. I enjoyed making it so much that I actually made another one to send to my roommate. Both of the recipients birthdays are coming up soon, so I thought it would be a nice little surprise for them to receive. While making this, I realized the similarity in sending an ACP to a snapchat are the same in the aspect that they’re both trying to convey a message. I mean, not every exact snapchat has a meaning to it, someone could just be lazy and take a picture of their foot to make sure their snap streaks aren’t broken. But they’re also similar because, with both, you hope to get a response of some sort. The biggest difference between sending a physical package and sending a snapchat is the speed, a snapchat arrives almost instantly to the opposing person’s phone, but with a letter or package it will take a few days to get there. I think certain ephemera is trash. I don’t think an old fast food receipt would be considered art in any way, but I included my sticker from voting in the 2016 election- and I think that is art. With how crazy our political system is right now, I’d like my recipient to look back at my “I voted!” sticker and remember how ridiculous the 2016 election was for the whole country. I think there is a difference between art that is seen by many people and art seen by very few because it is more intimate, more private. The receiver feels special because they know only their eyes and the artist’s eyes have seen the work.I think the time and effort put into an ACP shows the thought the artist put into each piece of final product. Fast is better in snapchat’s sense because it lets you communicate with the other person in minutes on a subject you might need to know at that exact moment. But for an ACP slow is better because since you sat down and took the time to make the package, I believe gives off a better meaning than a 6-second snapchat. I think an ACP contains a type of deep love as opposed to snapchat only requiring a 30-second time span of one’s attention. An ACP requires a much larger amount of time, deliberately paying attention to details.

Leave a Reply

