Wk5 – Art Experience – Automatic Drawing

For this week’s art experience I had to do something called an automatic drawing which allows the hand to move randomly across the paper, expressing the subconscious. I asked one of my suitemates, Lorraine, to help me out in drawing this, and we matched too just to be extra. Honestly, in the beginning, I hated this project, because when we started the subconscious movements, we just kept arguing that each other was making the oil crayon move and couldn’t focus enough. Then we started doing random word association to distract us from focusing too hard on the drawing, and we produced this as the result. I’m actually pretty proud of it because I thought it would turn out a lot worse. When we were distracted thinking about words to say to each other, our hands just started moving like they had a mind of their own. For the final product, I’d like to try doing this again with my roommate and continue on this sheet of paper because as you can see, we didn’t take up the whole canvas. I want to see if my roommate and I would have different subconscious hand movements.

Leave a Reply

