Wk 14 – Sketching in the CSULB Japanese Garden

I love the Japanese Garden here at CSULB and when I found out class was going to be here, I got so excited! I used to visit the garden a lot last semester because it is really close to my dorms and even though it does not compare to a real Japanese garden, it still works in making me feel connected to my Asian roots. Personally, I thought my sketches weren’t as bad as I thought they could be. Even though I stuck to really simple structures like the bridge, a bonsai tree, and obviously the pond, it was fun to challenge my self to depict the image I wish to draw. The blind hand drawing I did surprised me a lot and I am actually impressed with myself lol! It was nice to be able to just relax at the Japanese Garden during class time and sit in the nice sun to draw. A 10/10 experience!

Leave a Reply

